Qualifying ends for municipal elections: Talladega County
by Staff reports
Jul 18, 2012 | 2754 views |  0 comments | 9 9 recommendations | email to a friend | print
TALLADEGA COUNTY — Municipal qualifying ended Tuesday, and Talladega County secured an impressive amount of participation for this year’s elections.

Candidates seeking office for mayor and city council in Sylacauga, Childersburg, Lincoln, Oak Grove, Waldo and Munford had the previous two weeks to qualify. The city of Talladega held municipal elections last year.

Elections are slated for Aug. 28, with the run-off date set for Oct. 9, if necessary. Newly elected officials take office in November.

The following is a list of candidates who qualified throughout Talladega County.


Mayor: Clara Curtis, Jim Hethcox, Walter Jacobson, Doug Murphree, Bobby Whetstone

Council District 1: Jim Heigl, Joe Hogan, Mike Landers

Council District 2: Shannon Darby, Manuell Smith

Council District 3: Ken Horn, Tom Roberts

Council District 4: Rocky Lucas, Jonathan Hall

Council District 5: Billy Carden, Billy Hay, Bryan Taunton


Mayor: Current Councilmen Bud Kitchin and Chris Watson, Kelly Love and Bill Thompson

Current Mayor Lew Watson is not seeking re-election.

Council Ward 1: Current Councilwoman Sadie Britt and Laura Nelson

Council Ward 2: Current Councilman Billy Pearson, former Riverside Mayor and Councilman Tony Brannon and Angela York

Council Ward 3: Gwen Barber and Jay Watson

Council Ward 4: Current Councilman Kurt Kuykendall and Myles Christian

Council Ward 5: Former Councilwoman Jean Burk


Mayor: B.J. Meeks, Peter Storey

Council Ward A: Martha Little, Jimmy Payne

Council Ward B: Michele Mizzell

Council Ward C: Bonnie Wallace Carter, Charles R. Isbell

Council Ward D: Wayne Gandy, Billy Lester, T. Glenn Stubblefield

Council Ward E: Michael Maxwell, Michael McLain, Charles Reynolds, Ralph R. Rich


Mayor: Councilman David Dabbs, Gary Carter and JoAnn Fambrough

Council Place 3: Tim Lipham, Phil McWilliams and Jeremy Watts

Council Place 2: Carmen Bates, incumbent Councilwoman Kaye O’Conner

Council Place 1: Councilman Shane Turner

Council Place 4: Councilman Lee Garrison

Council Place 5: Councilman Wade Champion


Mayor: Charles R. Merkel

Council Place 1: James C. Armstrong

Council Place 2: Tony A. White

Council Place 3: Sue Rogers

Council Place 4: David A. Harris

Council Place 5: Donald E. Coleman, Charles S. Rogers


Mayor: Susan Crim, Everett Askew, Dale Shaw and Dee Ford

Council: Annie Askew, Brenda Crim and Ronald Williams.

All council seats in Waldo are elected at-large. Once the three candidates who qualified are seated, they will appoint the other two council members.